Can you make that for Me?

Hello dear readers, no I have not forgotten to grace the web with my unusual and highly intriguing thoughts recently.  Frankly I just have not had the time.  No complaints from this end, needless to say a busy Ursula is a happy Ursula!  Recently my little family was lucky to win a fun mini-photo shoot from the amazing  Amanda Star Photography.  She had held a fathers day photo contest for her Momtography group, and after much deliberation I decided to enter one of my favorite shots from a family vacation.  I was super stoked to be the grand-prize winner, after all you should have seen the amazing photos that other Momtographers had entered!   For the photo shoot I decided to finally make a little something for me to wear.  Remember, I am trying to rebuild my wardrobe… and this was the perfect time to add something a little fancy.

Fancy, but fun.  Simple enough to wear out to an early dinner or nice enough to go to a holiday party.  I love the silhouette of the 1950’s, it shows off the woman’s body with out being vulgar yet has a fun flirty aspect to it.  These dresses also give you an excuse to pull out the petti-coats, thigh highs, and of course your pearls! I found this amazing fabric, black background with HUGE blue and gold butterflies.  It is so hard to find large prints, I just had to scoop it up.

Now that I had the perfect fabric I drafted up a sweet pattern, then I attached a full circle (and a half) skirt, and topped it off with a thin silk belt… of a contrasting color of course.   I knew that I wanted this dress to be a little more modest than most people are used to seeing me in, so the neckline is higher creating more visual interest.  As you can see this dress does not disappoint!  Yet it is so easy to wear.

And oh-so fun to twirl in.  You know there truly is nothing like a full circle skirt to bring out the little girl in you!  My daughter also loves to play with the puffiness of the skirt.  Super silly and creates fond memories.

Now, after posting some of these pictures on my fan-tabulous facebook page, I have had a few inquiries as to whether or not I will make outfits for my adult fans.  The answer to this is yes, with a bunch of caveats.  First and foremost:  I will only make them for those who are available to do fittings.

If us women have not figured it out by now, here is a shocking revelation:  no two women are built exactly alike.

Now if you want a nice dress, that fits… go to JC Penny’s or TJ Maxx and try a whole bunch on.  You will eventually find one you like, that fits relatively well, and probably your favorite color.   You can even have it altered, for a minimal fee.

If you want a dress that fits YOU, custom is definitely the way to go.  How many of you have one breast larger than the other?  Scoliosis?  One leg longer than the other?  Your booty is wider than your hips?    I can tell you, I have many of these issues… and more.

To start out with, what a seamstress does for a custom design, is called a “body block”.  All your measurements are taken (some you probably never thought of) and a 2-D flat reproduction of your body is made. From this your outfits are designed, following the curves that best fit you.  When a seam lies flat and in the right spot, no one can tell your right breast is smaller then the left.  If the panels are constructed correctly no one will see that your left butt cheek is 1/2″ higher than the right… It is a play with seams.  Nothing distracts from the eye, so a vision of perfection is achieved.

Would you like your waist to seem smaller?  Place the waist line seams above your true waist (which is above your belly button)!  Would you like to look longer?  Drop your waist line seam to your hips… but keep the true-waist loose.  Etc.  All of these can be achieved within the silhouette you are looking for.

The best part about a body block, if your weight is maintained within reason, you can have multiple outfits made just for you!  No question as to the fit or design.  When you pull it out of the closet it will be like a second skin, comfortable, elegant, and most importantly you!

Every woman deserves to have at least one item in her wardrobe that makes her happy, is fun to wear, and makes her feel absolutely stunning.

So to end this little infomercial on custom made outfits, yes I am happy to make custom outfits. From a simple shirt to a full blown evening dress… I do have a rule against “wedding dresses” (sorry! but spend your money on the honeymoon instead).  But the client has to be personally available to do fittings.  If you are elsewhere in the world, I might know a great seamstress to refer you to… so you won’t miss out.

Happy sewing!  And I am always happy to share resources on how to make your own body-blocks… you just really need a second pair of hands to do the fine tuning.

MUAH!

Leave a Reply

